God’s Wonderful Railway

is a classic 8 part BBC drama series from 1980.

It follows three generations of the Grant family

who live and work on the Severn Valley branch

of the Great Western Railway.

Split into three different stories,

The Permanent Way tells of the construction of the line in the 1860s,

Clear Ahead shows the line in its Edwardian heyday in 1906

and Fire on the Line, set in 1939, shows how the outbreak

of the Second World War affected both the family and the railway.

Filmed on location on the now preserved Severn Valley Railway.