Christopher J. R. Tolkien was born

in Leeds, United Kingdom, on 21 November 1924.

After a childhood in Oxford,

he joined the RAF during the Second World War

and was stationed to South Africa.

After the war, he finished his studies

and became a lecturer in Old and Middle English

as well as Old Icelandic at the University of Oxford.

After his father’s death in 1973,

he became the literary executor of the Tolkien Estate

and went on to edit and publish

his father’s unpublished material

starting with The Silmarillion in 1977

and ending with The Fall of Gondolin in 2018.

Died in Draguignan, Var, France, on 16 January 2020.




Articles – Artículos


Artículos en este site


Beyond Bree


Biblioteca Nacional de España



Books / Libros / Llibres

195?: Tolkien Hervarar Saga ok Heidreks Konungs. C.J.R. Tolkien (Oxford University, Trinity College). B. Litt. thesis. 1953/4. [Year uncertain]
1956: Hervarar Saga ok Heidreks. Ed. [E.O.] G. Turville-Petre. London: University College London, for the Viking Society for Northern Research, 1956; introduction by Christopher Tolkien.
1958: The Pardoner’s Tale. Geoffrey Chaucer, ed. Nevill Coghill and Christopher Tolkien. London: George G. Harrap, 1958. [29 Oct 58]
1959: The Nun’s Priest’s Tale. Geoffrey Chaucer, ed. Nevill Coghill and Christopher Tolkien. London: George G. Harrap, 1959. [28 Feb 60]
1960: The Saga of King Heidrek the Wise. Ed. and trans. Christopher Tolkien. London: Thomas Nelson & Sons (Icelandic Texts), 1960. [30 Jun 60]
1969: The Man of Law’s Tale. Geoffrey Chaucer, ed. Nevill Coghill and Christopher Tolkien. London: George G. Harrap, 1969. [Jun 69]

1975: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Pearl and Sir Orfeo (editor)
1977: The Silmarillion (editor)

1979: Pictures by J.R.R. Tolkien (editor)
1980: Unfinished Tales of Númenor and Middle-earth (editor)

1981: The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (editor with Humphrey Carpenter)

1983: The Monsters and the Critics and Other Essays (editor)
1983: The Book of Lost Tales Part One (editor)
1984: The Book of Lost Tales Part Two (editor)

1985: The Lays of Beleriand (editor)
1986: The Shaping of Middle-earth (editor)
1987: The Lost Road and Other Writings (editor)
1988: Tree and Leaf (editor)

1988: The Return of the Shadow (editor)
1989: The Treason of Isengard (editor)
1990: The War of the Ring (editor)
1992: Sauron Defeated (editor)
1993: Morgoth’s Ring (editor)
1994: The War of the Jewels (editor)
1996: The Peoples of Middle-earth (editor)
2007: The Children of Húrin (editor)

2009: The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún (editor)
2013: The Fall of Arthur (editor)
2014: Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary (editor)
2017: Beren and Lúthien (editor)
2018: The Fall of Gondolin (editor)


Deutsche Tolkien Gesellschaft e.V.









Google Académico


Sociedad Tolkien Española



Tolkien Gateway



Tolkien Society