Iroquois Indian Museum

dedicated to teaching about Iroquois


Native American culture through

archeology, history and contemporary art exhibits.


Who are the Haudenosaunee?

Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) are among

the Native American descendants

of the first people of this land.

They call themselves the Haudenosaunee,

which means «people who build a long house.»

The name Iroquois was

given to them by their neighbors

(Algonkian speaking people)

and then used by Europeans.


The original Five Nations

Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, and Seneca

became the Six Nations when the Tuscarora joined in 1722.

Members of other Native Nations were conquered,

adopted in the 1600s and 1700s,

or fled to Iroquois communities to escape

the encroachments of the new European settlers.

Today, the Iroquois live in 17 communities

in the United States, Canada, and in urban areas.

In the early 1600s, Iroquois villages centered in

what is known today as upstate New York.